Who Directed Each Star Wars Movie?

If you’re a fan of the Star Wars franchise, you probably know that each movie was directed by a different person. In this article, we will take a closer look at who directed each Star Wars movie.

Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope (1977)

The first Star Wars movie was directed by George Lucas. Lucas not only directed the film but also wrote the screenplay and served as executive producer. A New Hope was the beginning of the epic saga that has captivated audiences for over 40 years.

Star Wars: Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back (1980)

Irvin Kershner took over as director for The Empire Strikes Back. Kershner was known for his work on smaller films before being chosen by Lucas to direct the second installment of the Star Wars series. The Empire Strikes Back is often regarded as one of the best movies in the franchise.

Star Wars: Episode VI – Return of the Jedi (1983)

Richard Marquand was selected to direct Return of the Jedi, which marked the end of the original trilogy. Marquand had previously worked on smaller films before being chosen by Lucas to direct this final chapter in his story.

Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace (1999)

After a long hiatus, George Lucas returned to direct The Phantom Menace. This prequel film introduced new characters and stories to fans all over the world, while also expanding on existing lore from previous films.

Star Wars: Episode II – Attack of the Clones (2002)

George Lucas returned again to direct Attack of the Clones, which continued to explore events leading up to A New Hope. The film received mixed reviews from fans and critics alike but still managed to be a financial success.

Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith (2005)

George Lucas directed the final installment of the prequel trilogy, Revenge of the Sith. This film wrapped up the storylines that had been building over the previous two films and set up events for the original trilogy.

Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens (2015)

J.J. Abrams was selected to direct The Force Awakens, which marked the beginning of a new trilogy set 30 years after Return of the Jedi. Abrams was known for his work on other popular franchises like Lost and Star Trek.

Star Wars: Episode VIII – The Last Jedi (2017)

Rian Johnson took over as director for The Last Jedi, which continued the story from The Force Awakens. Johnson had previously directed films like Looper and Brick before being chosen to helm this project.

Star Wars: Episode IX – The Rise of Skywalker (2019)

J. Abrams returned to direct The Rise of Skywalker, which served as the conclusion to the Skywalker saga that had begun with A New Hope over 40 years prior.

  • Conclusion

In conclusion, each Star Wars movie has been directed by a different person, each bringing their unique vision to this beloved franchise. From George Lucas’ groundbreaking original trilogy to J. Abram’s epic conclusion in The Rise of Skywalker, these movies have captured the hearts and imaginations of fans all over the world.