Which Star Wars Movie Is First?

Are you a new Star Wars fan wondering which movie to watch first? Or are you simply confused about the timeline of events in this epic space opera?

Don’t worry, we’ve got you covered! In this article, we’ll discuss the chronological order of the Star Wars movies and help you decide which one to watch first.

Chronological Order of the Star Wars Movies

The Star Wars saga is a series of movies that were released over several decades. The story begins with Episode I: The Phantom Menace and ends with Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker. Here is the chronological order of the Star Wars movies:

  • Episode I: The Phantom Menace (set 32 years before Episode IV)
  • Episode II: Attack of the Clones (set 22 years before Episode IV)
  • Episode III: Revenge of the Sith (set 19 years before Episode IV)
  • Solo: A Star Wars Story (set approximately 10 years before Episode IV)
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (set immediately before Episode IV)
  • Episode IV: A New Hope
  • Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back
  • Episode VI: Return of the Jedi
  • Episode VII: The Force Awakens (set 30 years after Episode VI)
  • Episode VIII: The Last Jedi (immediately follows Episode VII)
  • Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker (set one year after Episode VIII)

The Machete Order

Now that you know the chronological order of the movies, you may be wondering which one to watch first. Many fans suggest watching them in release order (starting with Episode IV) as that was how the original trilogy was released in theaters.

However, there is another viewing order called the Machete Order. This order suggests watching the movies in the following sequence: Episode IV, Episode V, Episode II, Episode III, Episode VI, and then skipping Episode I altogether. This order is based on the idea that Episode I adds little to the overall story and can be skipped without missing anything important.


So which Star Wars movie is first? It depends on whether you want to watch them in chronological order or release order.

If you want to follow the storyline from beginning to end, start with The Phantom Menace. If you prefer to watch them in the order they were released in theaters, start with A New Hope.

Regardless of which order you choose, we hope this article has helped clear up any confusion and helps you enjoy this incredible saga to its fullest! May the Force be with you.