What Was the First Star Wars Movie in Order?

If you are a Star Wars fan, you might be curious about which movie was the first one in the series. The answer to this question is not as straightforward as it may seem.

In fact, the Star Wars movies were released in a non-chronological order, which can be a bit confusing for some fans. In this article, we will explore the release order of the Star Wars movies and help you understand which one was the first.

Release Order

The Star Wars movies were released in the following order:

  • Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope (1977)
  • Star Wars: Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back (1980)
  • Star Wars: Episode VI – Return of the Jedi (1983)
  • Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace (1999)
  • Star Wars: Episode II – Attack of the Clones (2002)
  • Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith (2005)
  • Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens (2015)
  • Star Wars: Rogue One (2016)
  • Star Wars: Episode VIII – The Last Jedi (2017)
  • Solo: A Star Wars Story (2018)
  • Star Wars: Episode IX – The Rise of Skywalker (2019)

As you can see from this list, the first Star Wars movie that was released was “Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope” in 1977.

The Storyline

The storyline of “A New Hope” follows Luke Skywalker, a young farmer who dreams of becoming a pilot and leaving his home planet of Tatooine. His life changes when he meets Obi-Wan Kenobi, a former Jedi Knight who teaches him about the Force and the ways of the Jedi.

Together with Han Solo, a smuggler, and Princess Leia, a leader of the Rebel Alliance, they embark on a mission to destroy the Death Star, a superweapon capable of destroying entire planets. Along the way, they face numerous obstacles and engage in epic battles against the evil Empire.

The Importance of “A New Hope”

“A New Hope” was not only the first Star Wars movie to be released but also set the foundation for an entire franchise that has become a cultural phenomenon. The movie introduced us to iconic characters like Luke Skywalker, Princess Leia, Han Solo, Darth Vader, and Obi-Wan Kenobi.

It also revolutionized filmmaking with its groundbreaking special effects and innovative storytelling techniques. The success of “A New Hope” paved the way for sequels and prequels that have continued to captivate audiences for over four decades.


In conclusion, “Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope” was the first movie in the Star Wars franchise to be released. It introduced us to beloved characters and revolutionized filmmaking with its special effects and storytelling techniques. If you are new to Star Wars or just looking to revisit where it all began, “A New Hope” is definitely worth watching.