What Star Wars Movie Came Out 2014?

In 2014, the highly anticipated Star Wars movie was released. The movie was titled “Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens”. Directed by J.J. Abrams, it marked the beginning of a new era for the Star Wars franchise.

The Plot

The Force Awakens is set 30 years after the events of Return of the Jedi. The First Order, a new evil organization has risen from the ashes of the Empire and threatens to destroy the New Republic.

Meanwhile, a young scavenger named Rey discovers a droid called BB-8 that contains a map leading to Luke Skywalker, who has been missing for years. Along with Finn, a former stormtrooper turned good guy, and Han Solo and Chewbacca, they embark on an adventure to find Luke and save the galaxy.

The Cast

The Force Awakens featured an impressive cast of both new and returning actors. Daisy Ridley played Rey, John Boyega played Finn, Adam Driver played Kylo Ren – the main antagonist of the film. Harrison Ford reprised his role as Han Solo while Carrie Fisher returned as Leia Organa.

The Reception

The Force Awakens was met with critical acclaim and became one of the highest-grossing films of all time. Fans were excited to see their favorite characters return to the big screen while also being introduced to new ones.

  • It received an approval rating of 93% on Rotten Tomatoes
  • It grossed over $2 billion worldwide
  • It won several awards including Best Visual Effects at the 88th Academy Awards


Overall, Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens was a huge success both critically and commercially. It reignited fans’ love for the franchise and set the stage for more Star Wars movies to come. With its engaging plot, impressive cast, and stunning visuals, it’s no surprise that it continues to be a fan favorite.