What Number Star Wars Movie Is New Hope?

If you’re a Star Wars fan, you’ve probably heard of the movie “A New Hope.” But what number Star Wars movie is it exactly? Let’s dive into the history of the franchise and find out.

The Beginning of Star Wars

Star Wars is a space opera film series created by George Lucas. The first film in the series, “Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope,” was released in 1977. This movie marked the beginning of a cultural phenomenon that has since spanned several decades.

The Original Trilogy

The original trilogy consists of three films: “A New Hope” (1977), “The Empire Strikes Back” (1980), and “Return of the Jedi” (1983). These movies follow the story of Luke Skywalker, Princess Leia, Han Solo, and their fight against the evil Empire led by Darth Vader.

The Prequel Trilogy

In 1999, Lucas released a new trilogy that serves as a prequel to the original films. These movies include “The Phantom Menace” (1999), “Attack of the Clones” (2002), and “Revenge of the Sith” (2005). They explore how Anakin Skywalker becomes Darth Vader and his role in overthrowing the Galactic Republic.

The Sequel Trilogy

In 2015, Disney acquired Lucasfilm and announced a new sequel trilogy set after the events of the original trilogy. This new trilogy includes “The Force Awakens” (2015), “The Last Jedi” (2017), and “The Rise of Skywalker” (2019). These movies introduce new characters such as Rey, Finn, Poe Dameron, and Kylo Ren while also bringing back familiar faces from previous films.

So What Number Star Wars Movie Is A New Hope?

“A New Hope” is the first movie released in the Star Wars franchise, but it is actually the fourth movie in terms of chronological order. The correct order to watch the movies in terms of story continuity is:

  1. “The Phantom Menace”
  2. “Attack of the Clones”
  3. “Revenge of the Sith”
  4. “A New Hope”
  5. “The Empire Strikes Back”
  6. “Return of the Jedi”
  7. “The Force Awakens”
  8. “The Last Jedi”
  9. “The Rise of Skywalker”


In conclusion, “A New Hope” is technically the fourth movie released in the Star Wars franchise, but it serves as the beginning of the original trilogy and has become a cultural touchstone for many fans. Whether you’re watching it for the first time or revisiting a classic, may the Force be with you!