What Is the Correct Order of the Star Wars Movie?

If you’re a Star Wars fan, chances are you’ve debated the correct order to watch the movies. With so many options available, it can be difficult to decide which order will provide the best viewing experience. In this article, we’ll explore the most popular orders and help you make an informed decision.

The Release Order:

The release order is the chronological order in which the movies were released. This means starting with Episode IV: A New Hope and ending with Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker. The release order is a great option for those who want to experience the movies as they were meant to be seen by audiences at the time of their release.


  • The story unfolds in the same way it did for fans in theaters.
  • You get to see how the franchise evolved over time.


  • The prequels can feel like a step backward in terms of technological advancements and special effects.
  • There are some plot points that may not make sense without watching some of the prequel films first.

The Machete Order:

The Machete Order was created by Rod Hilton and is named after his blog. This order starts with Episode IV: A New Hope, then jumps back to Episode II: Attack of the Clones before returning to Episode III: Revenge of the Sith.

The original trilogy is then completed with Episodes V and VI, followed by Episode VII: The Force Awakens, and finally capped off with Episode VIII: The Last Jedi.


  • This order provides a unique viewing experience that enhances character development and plot twists.
  • You get to avoid the weaker prequels and still see the complete story.


  • Some fans argue that this order is too complicated and may confuse new viewers.
  • You miss out on the original experience of seeing the movies in their release order.

The Chronological Order:

The chronological order starts with Episode I: The Phantom Menace and ends with Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker. This order provides a clear and concise timeline of events in the Star Wars universe.


  • You get to see the story unfold in chronological order without any jumps or flashbacks.
  • You get a complete understanding of all plot points, character arcs, and overall story structure.


  • The reveal of Darth Vader’s true identity may not have as much impact if you already know it going into the original trilogy.
  • The prequels are often criticized for their weak storytelling and poor character development, which may make them harder to watch for some viewers.

The Conclusion:

In conclusion, there is no one “correct” way to watch Star Wars. It ultimately comes down to personal preference. If you want to experience the movies as they were originally released, go with the release order.

If you want a unique viewing experience that enhances character development, try the Machete Order. And if you want a clear timeline of events, go with the chronological order. Whatever order you choose, just remember to enjoy the ride and may the force be with you!