Has Any Star Wars Movie Won an Oscar?

Star Wars is a cinematic phenomenon that has captured the hearts of millions of fans worldwide. It has also been a critically acclaimed franchise with a massive impact on the film industry.

Over the years, there have been nine main Star Wars films, and several spin-offs, but has any of them won an Oscar? Let’s take a closer look.

Star Wars and Oscars

The Star Wars movies have been nominated for several Academy Awards over the years. However, only a handful of them have managed to win any Oscars.

A New Hope (1977)

The first movie in the franchise, “A New Hope,” was released in 1977 and was an instant hit. It was nominated for ten Academy Awards and won seven of them. The awards it won were:

  • Best Art Direction-Set Decoration
  • Best Costume Design
  • Best Film Editing
  • Best Original Score
  • Best Sound Mixing
  • Best Visual Effects
  • Special Achievement Award for Sound Effects Editing

The Empire Strikes Back (1980)

The second movie in the series, “The Empire Strikes Back,” was released in 1980 and was also nominated for several Academy Awards. However, it only managed to win one award for Best Sound.

Return of the Jedi (1983)

“Return of the Jedi,” which concluded the original trilogy, received four nominations at the Academy Awards but did not win any.

The Prequel Trilogy (1999-2005)

The prequel trilogy, which consisted of “The Phantom Menace,” “Attack of the Clones,” and “Revenge of the Sith,” was not as successful with critics as the original trilogy. However, they still managed to receive several nominations in technical categories such as Visual Effects, Sound Mixing, and Sound Editing. They won a total of three Oscars for Best Visual Effects – one for each movie.

The Sequel Trilogy (2015-2019)

The sequel trilogy, which consisted of “The Force Awakens,” “The Last Jedi,” and “The Rise of Skywalker,” received mixed reviews from both fans and critics alike. However, they still managed to secure nominations in various categories such as Sound Editing, Sound Mixing, and Visual Effects. Unfortunately, none of them managed to win any Academy Awards.

Final Thoughts

In conclusion, only the original Star Wars movie “A New Hope” and its prequel trilogy managed to win Academy Awards. Despite the lack of Oscar recognition for most Star Wars movies, it is still a cultural phenomenon that has captured the hearts of millions worldwide. With the upcoming release of new Star Wars content on Disney+, there is hope that future films will be able to add more awards to the franchise’s list of accomplishments.